by the partae

New album Résistance out Friday June 16
on Transgressive via [PIAS]/Inertia Music

Songhoy Blues have shared new single “Mali Nord” (feat. Elf Kid), the latest track from their forthcoming album, Résistance, which is released on Friday June 16 on Transgressive Records via [PIAS]Inertia Music.


In addition to Elf Kid, the album features contributions from Iggy PopStealing Sheep and Lxury.
The band said:
With ‘Mali Nord’ we wanted to talk about something close to both the band and Elf Kid: refugees and immigration. It’s something that surrounds all of us, whether it’s from Libya before the fall of Gaddafi, or Syria, or within Mali itself. All these refugees who are in camps, those who cross the Sahara to the sea to go to Europe to find a better life, many have lost their lives in the desert. Good lives. We wanted to deal with that because it feels like a point the media misses a lot of the time.

Elf Kid said:
Songhoy are a great band to work with because they are such good musicians and it’s been my pleasure to be a part of the album. I love the fact that they can combine strong melodies with deep and meaningful lyrics. Working on this track was a challenge to bring our two worlds together, I can’t wait to perform this live with them.
Résistance is bold, inspiring and outward-looking, perfectly reflecting the position in which the band have found themselves following the massive success of their breakthrough debut, Music In Exile, released in 2015. It was recorded in the autumn of 2016 at The Pool studio in London with producer Neil Comber (MIADjango Django, Crystal FightersDeclan McKenna).
With more time and a wider armoury of equipment at their disposal, the album is the sound of Songhoy Blues stretching themselves, with hints of R&B, soul and hip-hop all fusing seamlessly with the band’s trademark exuberant sound, with themes for our time.

Clash called the album’s first single, “Bamako”, “a sheer blast of positive energy”, with Rolling Stone praising the “skittering disco-tinged guitar vamp [that] slinks through the track alongside spaced-out synth lines and brassy horn blast.
The band released Music In Exile, in early 2015 receiving across the board praise, including a 5/5 rating in The Guardian who claimed, “they have all the makings of African-rock crossover heroes.” Rolling Stone named the band one of their 10 Artists You Need to Know, calling the album “a churning, loose-limbed garage-rock take on traditional Malian music.

Songhoy Blues

1.   Voter
2.   Bamako
3.   Sahara (feat. Iggy Pop)
4.   Yersi Yadda
5.   Hometown
6.   Badji
7.   Dabari
8.   Ici Bas
9.   Ir Ma Sobay
10. Mali Nord (feat. Elf Kid)
11. Alhakou
12. One Colour

Résistance by Songhoy Blues is out Friday June 16
on Transgressive via Inertia Music
Get it here:
For media enquiries contact

For more information:

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.