Panda Bear Shares New Track ‘Token’ with Dean Blunt directed video | “Buoys” out February 8th

by the partae
Panda Bear

Photo credit: Fernanda Pereira

Near the tail end of 2018, Panda Bear a.k.a. Noah Lennox, founding member of Animal Collective, announced Buoys – a full-length follow up to 2015’s kaleidoscopic album Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper and the vinyl-only EP A Day With The Homies (2018). Buoys will be released February 8th 2019.

Today, Panda Bear presents a new single from the album – ‘Token‘. The lusty, cascading track arrives with a video directed by and starring experimental producer & musician Dean Blunt.

Here’s what happens when you ask Dean to direct a music video:

Watch video for “Token” HERE
Listen to “Token” via DSPs HERE

In tandem with the start of the New Year comes the arrival of the Most Anticipated Albums of 2019 lists, many of which feature Buoys. Check out lists from VultureSPINPitchforkStereogum and Consequence of Sound, all of which include mention of the forthcoming album.

Listen to previous single ‘Dolphin’ HERE
Digital animation by Crash Override

Watch an album trailer by Danny Perez featuring previously unreleased music from Buoys HERE

Buoys was co-produced and co-mixed by collaborator Rusty Santos in Lennox’s adopted home of Lisbon, Portugal. Lennox and Santos last collaborated on the landmark Panda Bear album Person Pitch, which had its 10-year anniversary last year.

Alongside Santos, Buoys also features collaborators in Chilean DJ/vocalist Lizz and Portuguese musician Dino D’Santiago, both artists who came to Lennox via Santos’ recent trap and reggaeton production work; the former contributes arrangements throughout the album including ‘Dolphin’, and both lend their vocals to ‘Inner Monologue’.

Buoys will be available on CD, LP, and Limited Edition LP, and digitally on February 8, 2019. Buoys artwork was created by Danny Perez, with photography by Fernanda Pereira, and with additional design by Rob Carmichael, SEEN.

Pre-order the album HERE

EMI Press Release

Buoys artwork by Danny Perez, photography by Fernanda Pereira, with additional design by Rob Carmichael, SEEN.

Buoys tracklisting
01. Dolphin
02. Cranked
03. Token
04. I Know I Don’t Know
05. Master
06. Buoys
07. Inner Monologue
08. Crescendo
09. Home Free

Panda Bear Online


Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.