Nightmares On Wax shares brand new single ‘Deep Shadows’

by the partae

Shape The Future out Friday, January 26 on Warp Records via Inertia Music

‘Deep Shadows‘ is the next cut to premiere from Nightmares on Wax’s hotly anticipated album Shape The Future which lands next week. The cut sees N.O.W mainman George Evelyn apply a stripped-back wound-down club R&B sound to this almost-lost soul classic.

Originally recorded in 1967 by Detroit’s Little Ann, the track was unearthed by Northern Soul aficionados in the late 90s and has steadily grown as an underground cult classic. Nightmares’ interpretation features the deeply arresting vocals of up-and-coming London soulstress Sadie Walker.


George says about the track:

In the final stages of recording Shape The Future I expressed how much I needed some female energy injected. I had an idea to cover an old reggae song that Sadie would be perfect for. I then heard the original ‘Deep Shadows’ by Little Ann and instantly connected with it. The track is an insight into the undenying effect love has, regardless of the exterior resistance to understand it.

Shape The Future is the perfect marriage of soul, hip-hop, dub and timeless club sounds that N.O.W. has been mutating and perfecting for his three decades in the studio. This body of work finds perhaps its most fluid form yet.

Nightmares On Wax
Shape The Future

1. Back To Nature (feat. Kuauhtli Vasquez & Wixarika Tribe)
2. Tell My Vision (feat. Andrew Ashong)
3. Shape The Future
4. On It Maestro
5. Tomorrow (feat. LSK)
6. Typical (feat. Jordan Rakei)
7. Tenor Fly
8. Citizen Kane (feat. Mozez)
9. Deep Shadows (feat. Sadie Walker)
10. Gotta Smile
11. The Other Ship
12. Citizen Kane (feat. Mozez and Allan Kingdom) (Rap Version) (Bonus Track)

Shape The Future by Nightmares On Wax is out January 26, 2018 on Warp Records via Inertia Music
Get it now:

Featured Photo Credit : Sequoia Ziff

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.