Marabou

by the partae
Where are you currently based and what is the music scene like there?
Currently i am living in Berlin. But my roots are in Oldenburg, a smaller city in northern Germany. Because of that my personal music scene is something between those 2 poles of: rare, small, but very lovely events in my Hometown and the professional, global music scene in Berlin. Both parts have their pros and cons.

You’ve been working with URSL, please tell us about what you’ve been working on?
I wanted to make music for dance floors with a high technical approach on sound and many details. different styles and vibes in similar color shades. My 3 songs are very different from each other and are made for specific moments in clubs.

How was your Summer season of shows?
this summer season i was more involved in the production of festivals. for this reason, i did not perform that much.  as a musician my highlight was playing at garbicz festival.

Who are you listening to at the moment?
music in general is kind of my passion so i can’t really tell you genres or artists. but to name a few that are in my mind at the moment: nick drake, holger hiller, jan jalinek.

What have you been working on recently?
i am working on my next ep which will be released in winter on the french label azzur.

What do you like to do outside of music?
silence.

What do you have planned for this coming European Autumn?
doing my computer science studies, make music, play records and play ping pong with “Plattenfreunde Neukölln”.

Where in the world do you most enjoying staying and playing?
I think it’s sure that i mostly enjoy places where a lot of friends or open minded people are. so i can be sure the dancers understand the meaning of a song and dig the same vibe as i do when i am playing. to reach this kind of unity can be very brightening.

What do you have planned for the remainder of 2018 going into 2019?
i don’t believe in the concept of years. we just dance around the sun.

How did you first start playing music?
I was gifted learning flute in elementary school. later i played piano, also in bands. And furthermore I started to make electronic music when I was around 16.

Favourite food and place to hangout?

if no friends are available to hang out and cook together i like to go to arabic or asian restaurants. Tian Fu II in berlin is a great place for Chinese food.

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.