The Cat Empire Release – Sola

by the partae

More exciting news for fans of The Cat Empire with the release of Sola, the next track delivered from the upcoming album which the band has just revealed will be called Stolen Diamonds and released on February 15th, 2019.

Sung mainly in Spanish and featuring Calexico star Depedro on vocals, Sola is expected to generate “Buena Onda” on the airwaves in Spain, one of The Cat Empire’s most successful territories, which has seen the band inciting near pandemonium among fans and media alike on recent visits. The languid cumbia of Sola frames a softer, less frenetic side to the The Cat Empire while paying respectful homage to band’s massive Spanish fan base.

As the song’s co-author Felix Reibl explains, “Sola features Depedro from Madrid, who we met many years ago at the Winnipeg Folk Festival. He plays with one of my favourite bands Calexico, but is also a very well respected artist in his own right. There was a cumbia style riff we recorded, and I felt the lyrics should be in Spanish, so we got in touch and this song emerged with Depedro writing his lines. It’s very cruisey, and the melody just goes around and around in your head, and that felt like a good moment for the album, and for all our Spanish speaking fans.”

The song’s other co-author Depedro reflects, “I met The Cat Empire guys in Canada, we did a gig together and we had an instant connection. Felix and I became friends that day. I was very happy when he called me to participated in Sola, it is a double pleasure to make good music and to have friends involved in it. This is a very emotional tune and because it’s sung in Spanish and English it fits perfectly with the crossover way of thinking that The Cat Empire has, and this view of getting people together with the most powerful weapon: music.”

The evocative cover art for Sola comes from photographer Woody Gooch @woodygphoto. Of his collaboration with The Cat Empire he mentions, “I remember listening to The Cat Empire on RAGE (when box tv’s were the coolest thing to have playing at 7am on a Saturday morning while making vegemite toast). Now having the opportunity to be mixing my work with them is an absolute honour. The image was shot on the east coast of Australia, a place called Byron Bay. It was another classic winters morning – alarms rattling off beside the bed at 5am to be the firsts ones in the ocean. I was trying to capture Byron’s emptiness and solitude this time of the morning – It brings us the ability to be free – this is why we do what we love. The ocean creates these amazing friendships”

The Cat Empire will head off for another massive European run this month which includes multiple sold out shows in Madrid, Barcelona, Amsterdam, London and Brixton. All of this comes off the back of four previously released singles including Ready Now, Stolen Diamonds, La Sirène and Kila, which combined have had The Cat Empire’s army of fans generating well over 2 million streams. A series of 360 performance videos for each single have also been released with YouTube VR showcasing the series to their millions of viewers.

Check out the 360 clips HERE

The Cat Empire – Stolen Diamonds is out on Two Shoes Records, Feb 22nd, 2019

THE CAT EMPIRE
2018 WORLD TOUR DATES

AUSTRALIAN & NEW ZEALAND DATES:

Saturday 1st December, Inland Sea Of Sound, Bathurst, NSW
tickets click here

Friday 14th December, The Cat Empire Carnivale at Fremantle Arts Centre, Fremantle, WA
With Odette, Grievous Bodily Calm, Lucy Peach & more to be announced (18+)
tickets click here

Saturday 15th December, The Cat Empire Carnivale at Fremantle Arts Centre, Fremantle, WA
With Odette, Grievous Bodily Calm, Lucy Peach & more to be announced (18+)
tickets click here

Sunday 16th December, Caves House, Yallingup, WA
Supported by Odette
tickets click here

Friday 28th December, Woodford Folk Festival, Sunshine Coast, QLD
tickets click here

Saturday 29th December, Rhythm & Alps Festival, Wanaka, New Zealand
tickets click here

Friday 15th February Zoo Twilights, Melbourne, VIC– (SOLD OUT!)
tickets click here

Saturday 16th February Zoo Twilights, Melbourne, VIC (SOLD OUT!)
tickets click here

Sunday 17th February Zoo Twilights, Melbourne, VIC
tickets click here

EUROPEAN DATES:

Tuesday 30th October Istanbul, Turkey – Babylon
tickets click here

Wednesday 31 October Bucharest, Romania – Arenele Romane
tickets click here

Thursday 1st November, Vienna, Austria – Arena Vienna
tickets click here

Friday 2nd November, Stuttgart, Germany – Liederhalle
tickets click here

Saturday 3rd November, Zurich, Switzerland – Komplex 457 (SOLD OUT!)
tickets click here

Sunday 4th November, Wiesbaden, Germany – Schlachthof
tickets click here

Tuesday 6th November, Berlin, Germany – Tempodrom
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Wednesday 7th November, Hamburg, Germany – MEHR! Theater
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Thursday 8th November, Amsterdam, Holland – Paradiso (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Friday 9th November, Amsterdam, Holland – Paradiso (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Saturday 10th November, Cologne, Germany – Palladium
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Monday 12th November, Brussels, Belgium – AB Hall (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Wednesday 14th November, Bournemouth, UK – 02 Academy
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Thursday 15th November, London, UK – Roundhouse (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Friday 16th November, London, UK – Roundhouse (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Saturday 17th November, Bristol, UK -02 Academy (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Sunday 18th November, Bristol, UK – 02 Academy (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Tuesday 20th November, Paris, France – Le Bataclan
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Wednesday 21st November, Toulouse, France – Le Bikini
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Thursday 22nd November, Barcelona, Spain – La Razzamatazz (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Friday 23rd November, Madrid, Spain – Sala La Riviera (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown

Saturday 24th November, Madrid, Spain – Sala La Riviera
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

Sunday 25th November, Barcelona, Spain – La Razzamatazz (SOLD OUT!)
Supported by The Meltdown
tickets click here

NORTH AMERICAN DATES (2019):

Thursday 28th February, Brooklyn NY – Brooklyn Steel
tickets click here

Friday 1st March, Philadelphia PA – Theatre of Living Arts
tickets click here

Saturday 2nd March, Boston MA – Royale
tickets click here

Sunday 3rd March, Quebec QC – Capitole
tickets click here

Monday 4th March, Montreal QC – MTELUS
tickets click here

Tuesday 5th March, Montreal QC – MTELUS
tickets click here

Thurdsay 7th March, Toronto ON – Danforth Music Hall
tickets click here

Friday, 8th March, Waterloo Ontario – Maxwell’s Music House
tickets click here

Saturday 9th March, Chicago IL – House of Blues
tickets click here

Monday 11th March, Minneapolis MN – Varsity Theater
tickets click here

Tuesday 12th March, Winnipeg MB – Burton Cummings Theatre
tickets click here

Thursday 14th March, Edmonton AB – Winspear Centre
tickets click here

Friday 15th March, Calgary AB – MacEwan Hall
tickets click here

Sunday 17th March, Vancouver BC – Commodore Ballroom
tickets click here

Monday 18th March, Vancouver BC – Commodore Ballroom
tickets click here

Tuesday 19th March, Victoria BC – Royal Theatre
tickets click here

Wednesday 20th March, Seattle WA – The Showbox
tickets click here

Thurday 21st March, Portland OR – Wonder Ballroom
tickets click here

Saturday 23rd March, San Francisco CA – The Fillmore
tickets click here

Monday 25th March, Los Angeles CA – El Rey Theatre
tickets click here

Tuesday 26th March, San Diego CA – House of Blues
tickets click here

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.