The Acid Release The Soundtrack For ‘The Bomb’ + Announce Live Experience Show At Sydney Festival

by the partae

The Acid Release The Soundtrack For ‘The Bomb’ + Announce Live Experience Show At Sydney Festival

In the lead-up to their Sydney Festival performance on 23 and 24 January 2018The Acidhave announced the digital release of the soundtrack for the film the bomb, out now via Liberator Music/Infectious Music/BMG. The vinyl release of the album will follow in early 2018, and is available for pre-order.
Hailed by critics, the bomb is an experimental, music-driven film that looks at the strange and compelling world of nuclear weapons. The film had its UK premiere at the Shangri-La area of this year’s Glastonbury and was shown as an installation on massive 360-degree screens that completely surrounded the audience, while The Acid played the soundtrack live.
The Sydney Festival performance will be the Australian debut of the bomb. Presented at Sydney’s renowned contemporary Arts Center, Carriageworks, The Acid will perform the score live in front of two huge 9x6m screens that will fill the former industrial space. Concrete Playground has called it “one of the ten best music events at Sydney Festival 2018.”
For The Acid, who toured Australia following the release of their debut album, and artist/producer RY X, who grew up in New South Wales, it will be something of a homecoming. “We’re really excited to return to Australia and share our seminal immersive project the bomb at Sydney Festival,” says the band. “It comes at a crucial time when we need to focus our collective energies into preserving the planet and its people. Raising awareness and creating movement toward nuclear disarmament goes a long way toward bringing more peace and stability to the world’s table.”
the bomb will continue its tour with other live performances across the world in 2018.
Watch the film’s trailer here.
the bomb was produced and conceived by Smriti Keshari (Food Chains) and Eric Schlosser (Command and Control, Fast Food Nation, Food, Inc.).  The film was co-directed by Kevin Ford (Three Days, By the River), Keshari & Schlosser, with art direction by Stanley Donwood (Radiohead) and animation by The Kingdom of Ludd. The live installation was designed and staged by United Visual Artists.
“The topic of this film is very important to us, it’s a story which needs to be told to a generation that needs to hear it,” says The Acid’s Adam Freeland. “It’s been an honour to collaborate with some of our heroes on the bomb. It’s turned into something even more powerful than the sum of its parts. Three people passed out when we premiered it at Tribeca Film Festival.”
the bomb exists at the intersection of art, politics, and technology. Over seven decades have passed since a city was destroyed by a nuclear weapon. But the danger never went away. We are now confronted with a world in which nine nations possess almost 15,000 nuclear weapons. Many of the weapons in the American arsenal are roughly 20 times more powerful than the bomb detonated at Hiroshima. the bomb places the viewer in the middle of the story of nuclear weapons — the most dangerous machines ever built — from the Trinity Test in 1945 to the current state of nuclear weapons in 2017.
In the absence of a traditional narrative, the soundtrack plays a central role in the film, helping to provide an emotional response that rises and falls like a great DJ set.  Despite the somber subject matter, the music composed by The Acid has moments of haunting beauty.
The Acid came together from four separate worlds. They are globe-trotting, Grammy-nominated DJ and producer Adam Freeland, Californian Steve Nalepa, whose time is divided between being a producer, composer and professor of music technology; Berkley graduate, LA-based artist Jens Kuross; and Australian artist and producer RY X. The Acid’s highly acclaimed debut album, Liminal, came out in 2014.

The Bomb (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) tracklist:

  1. Earth
  2. Marching
  3. The Bomb – Theme I
  4. Accidents
  5. Testing
  6. Feed
  7. Propaganda
  8. Duck and Cover 2.0
  9. Onyx
  10. Clean
  11. Modern Propaganda
  12. Veda

The Bomb (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Album
The Acid

Out now through Liberator Music/Infectious Music/BMG
Available for streaming & purchase here
Vinyl pre-order available here



Tuesday 23 & Wednesday 24 January
Bay 17, Carriageworks | Sydney, NSW

All Ages

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.