01. I Know The Face, But Not The Name
02. Liminal States
03. Speed Wagon Night Bride
04. The Words Are Just Sounds
05. It Gets Worse At Night
06. Deku Tree
07. The Electric Eye Is Upon Me
08. Étant Donnés
09. Thoughts Of You
10. Shiba Inu Dub
11. You Never Listen
12. Feel Your Body
13. German Friendship
14. Alternate Mindset
15. Upper Peninsula (ft. Terekke)

Listen to ‘Speed Wagon Night Bride’ in full

This grouping of audio recordings is for aural use only. Any emotional content perceived herein is borne of its listener, and is in no way intended by its author. Any sounds resembling speech are not intended to convey meaning.

Max Ravitz, aka Patricia, produces techno with a spelunker’s wide-eyed exploratory flair. “As an instrument, the synthesizer is designed to theoretically reproduce any imaginable structure of sound,” remarks Ravitz. “I’ve always been much more interested in sound design than being able to ‘play well,’ and the synthesizer allows for a slow and thoughtful approach towards crafting sound.” He allows his machines to speak for themselves: “I occupy the role of a composer or conductor, in a sense, determining how the music sounds while employing my various instruments as the players.”

Several Shades Of The Same Color is Patricia’s first album for Spectral Sound —produced in conjunction with his own label Active Cultures.

Tips for listeners: consider the moment in which you exist; pay attention to how these sounds evoke physiological (rather than cognitive) responses. Listeners may find themselves deriving immense physical pleasure from exposure to these sounds. Inability to achieve such pleasure is likely attributable to over-analysis of the aforementioned audio content — or to improper amplification.

Each of Shades‘ three LPs features suites of tracks that, considered alone, comprise their own distinct, unique worlds. Disc One opens with “I Know The Face, But Not The Name,” an unabashedly plaintive trip through classic electro rhythms; flip it over for “The Words Are Only Sounds,” a haunting affair for synthesizer and voice. Disc Two’s “The Electric Eye is Upon Me” swirls endlessly, while “Shiba Inu Dub” is cut for the floor and coy as its namesake. Disc Three’s jackin’ “Feel Your Body” will cause you to do just that; “German Friendship” sounds like D.A.F. on dissociatives.

Any emotional associations incurred while listening come at the listener’s discretion. Furthermore, the identity of the author and/or their passions regarding the recordings herein shall bear no weight on the listener’s experience. This body of work is not intended to generate ideas; rather, its goal is to produce physical sensations in the listener.

 Taken altogether, Several Shades Of The Same Color is kaleidoscopic, a multi-faceted techno trip. Listen in full, or listen in part. And if you consider only one of these intermittent listening notes, make it this one: Don’t think; just hear.

 Listen to and download this release

Share on Pinterest
« »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *