REVEALS NEW SINGLE & VIDEO ‘EASTWICK’ + ANNOUNCES 7” EASTWICK/COLD CALLER + PLAYING SPLENDOUR IN THE GRASS

Fresh from a completely sold out Australian tour and ahead of festival appearances at Glastonbury, FYF, Newport Folk, Pickathon, Splendour In The Grass and more, Liberation Music are pleased to reveal a brand new single from Julia Jacklin – ‘Eastwick’ – a captivating, slow building track, inspired by a night in front of the TV watching Dancing With The Stars

Premiered on triple j’s Good Nights, the single is also accompanied by another mesmerising self-directed video. The video, which was unveiled overnight on Noisey, stars Julia and her bass player Harrison Fuller and was shot in Julia’s home region in Blue Mountains suburbia. ‘Eastwick’ is the first single from a 7” Eastwick/Cold Caller which will be released on Friday 15 September via Liberation Music.

VIDEO: ‘Eastwick’ by Julia Jacklin

News of the new single and 7” follows a dream run for the artist. Her debut album Don’t Let The Kids Win (released October 2016) was met with critical acclaim the world over. Jacklin’s conviction was realised. This album, so concerned with the rush of passing time, slowed the clock.

“I thought it was going to be a heartbreak record,” says Julia. “But in hindsight I see it was about hitting 24 and being like wait, this isn’t what I imagined this part of my life to look like. I thought I was going to be a lot more impressive. This record came from the mad rush to make something before any more time passed me by.”

In the wake of the album’s release she has toured the world supporting the likes of Marlon Williams, Whitney and Andy Shauf as well as playing to sold out crowds on her own headline tours. She’s been invited to perform at many of the world’s biggest festivals including Glastonbury, Primavera, Roskilde, FYF, Newport Folk, Splendour In The Grass, Latitude, Laneway and more.

Don’t Let The Kids Win has been a critics favorite, featuring on numerous end of year lists in 2016 and has earned Julia countless milestone moments including nominations for APRA Australian Song of the Year, Album of the Year at the Triple J Awards and AIR Awards. Julia also featured on the coveted NPR’s Tiny Desk Series and completely sold out a homecoming tour in May where crowds listened so intently a pin drop could be heard! Fans can relive the shows on Monday 19 June on triple j’s Live At The Wireless.

It’s a relentless level of ambition to live with, but after a life-changing year it at least comes with a level of satisfaction for what has been achieved. “I’m quite proud of myself,” she says. “I still have a lot to prove, but I’m happy where I am right now. It’s important to recognize those moments in your life. Not let any kind of anxieties creep in. Push them out and think, ‘No, I’m going to enjoy this right now.’’

Julia has relocated to Barcelona for the time being, with plans to recapture the Spanish she learned while living in Costa Rica at 19. We look forward to welcoming her back home in July for Splendour in the Grass.

“You can just imagine yourself drunk, swaying along with her band and  someone you love in a dimly lit bar” – Rolling Stone

“…Jacklin examines themes of love and loss and thoughtfulness with a prickling sense of self-awareness.” — Noisey

“The silence so profound, at times you could hear the clicks of the cameras coming from the photographer’s pit.” – The Music

‘Eastwick’ – Julia Jacklin
Out now through Liberation Music
Available for streaming & purchase here

7″ Eastwick/Cold Caller – Julia Jacklin
Out Friday 15 September 2017 through Liberation Music

Don’t Let The Kids Win – Julia Jacklin
Out now through Liberation Music
Available for streaming & purchase here

JULIA JACKLIN

For more tour info, click here

AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES
Fri 21 July | Byron Bay, NSW @ Splendour In The Grass SOLD OUT!

INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES
Wed 14 Jun |  Bergen, NO @ BergenFest
Fri 23 June | Netherlands @ Down The Rabbit Hole Festival
Sun 25 Jun | Glastonbury, UK @ Glastonbury Festival
Thu 29 Jun | Denmark @ Roskilde Festival
Fri 7 Jul | Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer*
Sat 8 Jul | Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club*
Tue 11 Jul | Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop*
Fri 14 Jul | Henham Park, UK @ Latitude Festival
Sun 16 Jul | Riga, Latvia @ Positivus Festival
Sun 23 Jul | Los Angeles, LA @ FYF Fest
Wed 26 July | Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool
Sat 29 Jul | Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sat 5 Aug – Sun 6 Aug | Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon Festival
Thu 10 Aug | Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri 11 Aug | Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West Festival
Sat 12 Aug | Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop
Fri 18  Aug | Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man Festival
Sat 19 Aug | Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sun 3 Sept | Wiltshire, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Thu 2 Nov | Portsmouth, UK @ Wedgewood Rooms
Fri 3 Nov | Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Sat 4 Nov | Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Mon 6 Nov | Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor
Tue 7 Nov | Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Wed 8 Nov | Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Thu 9 Nov | London, UK @ O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Mon 13 Nov | Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Wed 15 Nov | Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Fri 17 Nov | Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Sat 18 Nov | Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore
Sun 19 Nov | Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Mon 20 Nov | San Francisco, CA @ Café Du Nord

* w/ Mitski

Printable Presser   Press Images

Share
Share on Pinterest
« »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories